I’m absolutely knackered … CFS/ME

Standard

Apparently it is ME/CFS and Fibromyalgia Awareness Day ….. I hope so anyway. Having chronic fatigue can sometimes make me a little absent minded, the whole brain fog thing!

Over the last 25 years or so I have had three different diagnosis’s (spelling?!)
Post Viral Syndrome
ME and now chronic fatigue. To be fair, I haven’t got a clue what is wrong with me now.

I have all the classic symptoms: unrefreshed sleep, brain fog, joint pain, rib pain, migraines, IBS, depression, lethargy etcetera It’s no fun at all and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. I really mean that!

What really annoys me is the lack of recognition of these conditions, to the point where many health professionals still do not except it exists at all. I can tell you now, it’s very real and incredibly debilitating. Why would anyone want to make up such a nightmare illness?

Then there is the problem of benefits. I haven’t applied for any benefits relating to my CFS because I’m not sure I have the energy to cope with the process. My illness fluctuates so wildly, one day I could go climbing but for the next month I will be dragging myself about. It’s quite invisible and so sufferers go largely unnoticed and without proper help. I’m not sure that I would class myself as disabled but there are times when I wish my illness was more visible, like when I have to stand up on a bus journey despite being so exhausted that just breathing is hard.

I don’t want to sound like a moany woman. I’m just highlighting a few of the things that I and many others deal with every day. Today is a good day, today is day where I can say that I have Chronic Fatigue and that I find life quite hard at times and maybe someone with influence will listen.

Love, hugs and tea
Exxx

2 thoughts on “I’m absolutely knackered … CFS/ME

Leave a Reply

