It’s all about me

Standard

Let’s get things clear before I start ….. I’m not self obsessed …. Ok? Maybe a little bit …..

I am a natural born worrier, it’s part of my make up. When I was younger, I made myself quite ill worrying about stuff. I’m rather fond of lists (if you haven’t already noticed!) so here’s a snapshot of the things I worried about as a teenager ….

Being sick
My weight
Not having a boyfriend
Whether people liked me or not
What I looked like
My school grades
Destruction of the rainforest
Pollution
Global warming
Dying
Poverty, famine
The Conservative party
Animal welfare
Fear of awful things happening to my loved ones
Using the school toilets
War
Nuclear weapons ….

I worried a lot as a teenager ….

Over the last few weeks I’ve noticed how insular I have become. I tweet about myself, I blog about myself. What I am doing now? Writing about myself, oh the irony. It’s a problem. When someone tweets about their suffering, I often reply with how I am suffering. It’s not that I want to turn the focus on to me, it’s just my infuriating way of saying ‘I see you, I hear you, you’re not alone’. I realise that the universe does not revolve around me, I’m not Russell Brand ffs!

Anyway, this is my rather awkward attempt at saying, I know it’s not all about me! I know that there are people far worse off than me, that my sufferings are minute compared to that of millions of people. I will try harder to listen rather than adding my voice to the noise.

My life isn’t perfect and I have been through a whole of rubbish, that’s not an excuse so time to change things. Just give me a bit of time! It’s not all about me, it’s all about us. Viva la revolución! 😉

Love, tea and hugs
Exxx

Leave a Reply

