Abortion is not a dirty word! 

Standard

As you know, I started a petition in Novemeber last year calling for buffer zones to be created out side of abortion clinics. Bpas also named me as one of their champions of choice for my campaigning after presenting the petition to No.10. Sadly, I haven’t been able to bring about change …. Yet! 

I am heartened by the continued news coverage of abortion clinics and by research stating how most women do not regret their abortions (please read the article by Rebecca Schiller article on the statistics at the end of this post). 

I’m going to be clear and say that I will not use the term ‘anti choice’ (even though protestors are anti choice) as abortion is not a dirty word. I spoke to a researcher from BBC R4 ( sadly they didn’t run with the piece) about the stigma and taboo surrounding abortion. Women feel shamed in to keeping their abortions secret, this should not be the case. Many of us would be open about having a medical procedure without fear of recrimination. Having an abortion is a medical procedure too, it really is that simple so women should have safe access to medical help. 

Despite what anti abortion protestors would like you to think…

Abortion is legal up to 24 weeks. 

Late abortions are very rare.

Abortion is not murder.

No baby or child has been killed.

Women are not ignorant of their decisions. Many women already have children and even if they haven’t, women can be trusted to make their own choices over their bodies. 

Abortion saves lives! I can’t imagine the pain a woman would go through having to give birth to an unwanted baby. Not to mention the life that baby may go on to have.

I may well be preaching to the converted here but I feel I need to keep posting blogs on this issue as it is not going away. Buffer zones are the only practical answer to the blight and upset that anti abortion protestors cause. They may have a right to protest but they do not have the right to cause upset and harass women and staff just because they don’t like it! 

Below are two links …. One is an open letter to the Health Secretary Jeremy   Hunt MP, the other is a link to Bpas so you can lobby your MP. 

http://www.abortionrights.org.uk/open-letter-to-jeremy-hunt/

http://back-off.org/get-involved/

Please sign my petition if you haven’t done so yet and share with others. 
Many thanks for your continued support 

Exxx 
http://gu.com/p/4akx6/sbl

32 thoughts on “Abortion is not a dirty word! 

  1. David Moorcraft

    Just keep Fighting !!

    This from an old Welsh bloke, grandfather of 3 , and strong believer in fairness and Justice.
    Let women choose ! It’s their bodies which would have to carry the foetus.

      • Jen

        Thank you for continuing to highlight the bullying and harassment that women continue to experience over exercising their right. I longed to have children, struggled, had fertility treatment whilst continuing to support women’s right to choose what happens to their bodies. I marched in Brighton in the 80’s to support abortion rights when I was thrilled to be 3 months pregnant. I had a sticker on my jacket that said ‘hands off my body’. I was still wearing the jacket and sticker when sadly I miscarried at the hospital later that night.
        The doctor recorded spontaneous abortion on my records.
        In later years undergoing treatment for infertility I would find myself sharing wards with women having abortions and I found it sad because we were all in a situation that we didn’t choose.
        I have four kids now and I continue to support women’s right to abortion and the freedom of choice.
        Thank you
        J

      • Thanks 🙂
        Sorry to hear of your struggles with fertility and thank you for sharing your story. It’s important that people listen to women like you.
        It’s sad that we still have to have these discussions in 2015. I hope one day this will all be in the past.

      • Vicky

        Keep strong – what you are doing is incredibly important. I had fertility investigations with a previous partner and would have needed a lot of medical intervention to have a child. Had my daughter at the age of 40 with my new partner with a difficult pregnancy and health problems afterwards for about two years. Finally accidentally got pregnant again at 49 – no way could I cope – I had an abortion, luckily early, and have never regretted it. Through all this I have always believed that the woman should have the right to choose.

  2. julia

    Seem some people prefer us to revert back to not having a choice, what have they to gain i wonder?
    Would they like us to cover ourselves up too and become second class citizens?
    dictated by those with the ‘so correct thoughts’ on a woman should have no say in the decision of her own body?
    more so in the bigger picture of the world population in saturation point, with limited homes. Who’s picking up the price tag!

  3. Sula maye

    I had an abortion when I was twenty one, it was not a choice as far as I was concerned as my choice would have been not to get pregnant in the first place! It was an emotionally painful and difficult experience and I went on to be infertile, nothing to do with the abortion I hasten to add. However, despite all this I have never regretted my abortion because I could not have been a mother then and I would not have wanted a child of mine adopted. Ironically I went on to adopt and couldn’t be happier with my daughter. I refuse to be ashamed of my abortion and I think it is fantastic that you are standing up for abortion. The government are the ones who should be ashamed for making a difficult time worse by not protecting women.

    • Thank you for sharing your story. This is why we need to make sure that access to abortion stays safe and legal. None of us should judge a woman on her decision to have an abortion. I am pleased that you have a wonderful daughter now.
      I have three children. I had an abortion, it wasn’t pleasant but no operations are. I would have an abortion again if I needed to. It’s important that women keep talking about it. Best wishes x

  4. Helen

    Ellie, your bravery does not go unnoticed. Thank you for keeping alive the values of free choice for women, where those elected to protect the interests of women, as well as men, fail to do so. Stuff the trolls !

  5. Lynette Gale

    I walk past an abortion clinic every time I go into town. The protesters are staying away due your campaign. Thank you so much. It was very hard to witness the harassment the patients and the staff were facing.

  6. Anthony Hay

    Hi, I’m one of the 123,362 people who signed your abortion clinic exclusion zone petition because bullying is never right. I wanted to thank you for standing up for what you believe and I hope you never give up. Good luck.

  7. Silvana Fishlock

    Dear Ekkie
    I signed, and hope in all the best for your campaign. I’m encouraged to read the comments by one poster above saying the antis are staying away from a clinic she passes, due to your petition. I don’t expect to be harassed any time I go to my doctor or to a hospital for medical treatment, and I don’t believe anyone else should be either. Change is always a long time a coming, but the powers that be love the status quo. Keep on keeping on.

    • Thank you 🙂 It is positive news and I think it’s about time society saw abortion as a medical procedure. As you say, you don’t get harassed for visiting the Dr or hospital.

  8. D Grieves

    Thank you for your campaign. I am in my 60s and had two abortions, one at 19 (coerced sex/rape?) and one in my mid 20s (though I was in a long-term relationship, I wasn’t in a fit place to bring a child into the world). I’ve since had two healthy children and have never regretted my decisions. I cannot imagine how it would have felt to have faced a barrage of anti-abortion protesters when I went to the Family Planning clinics for help and advice, especially at 19.
    I’ve signed your petition and support your campaign.
    Best wishes, Diana

  9. Bill

    It is very nice, as also encouraging, to read of even the smallest success. The world is extremely hard, and equally cold, The extreme Rigt Wing loonies will not give any of us an easy win. They believe in their extremely obsolete, and equally Fascist views. They are basically born bullies, and control freaks at every level.

  10. Bill

    Ekkie, Darling. A slight correction, if I may. You are not literally “a woman alone”, there are so many of us right there with you, and not just in thought. We too dislike the status quo, and thoroughly believe in the complete Freedom of Thought, Expression (speech?), Opinion, etc., as per the Human Rights Act, 10th December, 1948, Geneva, Article 9. Hoping for more success in the not too distant future, xxxx.

  11. Tom

    Religious nutcases (by which I mean ANYONE who believes their own belief should be allowed to impact other’s legal behaviour) should be incarcerated. I see no difference between the behaviour of anti-abortionists and the ill-educated, despicable and oppressive religious mentality that has kept Salman Rushdie in hiding and which led to the murders in Paris at the beginning of the year.

    This world NEEDS people like you to represent normality and acceptability on EVERY front – and I am sure this is exhausting and demoralising and frightening and upsetting. But you are organising a voice for so many sane people who greatly appreciate what you have done and are doing.

    I saw this article today which was of interest, although doesn’t support your solution (for a really silly reason) but is a similar voice and in the mainstream.

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-life/11766122/.html

    • I’m very disappointed to hear that Abortion Rights do not support buffer zones. No wonder they haven’t engaged with me on Twitter 😦
      I do feel like I’m shouting into the abyss right now as I’m just an average woman – no power, no influence, no media presence. I’ve been ignored by MPs from all parties.
      However, I won’t stop campaigning for women’s safety. Even if that means making myself very unpopular the the masses.

  12. It’s not about removing their right to protest but removing them from protesting outside of the clinics. This is about protection women which we don’t take seriously. These protestors can protest elsewhere of that is what they want to do but I think we all know that really they just want to intimidate women and clinic staff.
    The police may well have powers but they aren’t using them so a change in law is the only way. When animal rights protestors were not allowed near labs, that didn’t create a landslide of people being banned from protesting.
    What next could well be more clinic closures and maybe worse.

  13. Mark

    Hi Ekkie,

    I’m in awe of you’re dedication and tireless work. If only there were more people like you the world would be a far better place.
    When I signed your change.org petition it was already well over 100,000 signatures.
    On the petition Parliament website if a petition reaches 10,000 votes then government gives a response. If the petition goes on to hit 100,000 then it triggers a debate to happen in Parliament. Does change.org work the same way? If so do you know when the debate is booked for? It would be good to go demonstrate outside Parliament in the day.

    • Thank you 🙂

      I’ve had so little response from the government but I do know that Diane Abbot MP and Caroline Lucas MP have both penned early day motions …. To be debated in November I think.
      Handed mine into No.10 back in March but no discourse with the government.
      I’ve been quite poorly recently but going to do an update where I will ask you lovely lot 🙂 to email your MP … Mention this petition and maybe email Diane Abbot etc a lot it too as I’ve had no response from them either! Feeling somewhat ignored and the petition had almost 160 000 supports now.
      Give me a week or two ….. Sorry I’m so slow!

Leave a Reply

